Coffee Table Makeover

I am totally into refurbishing at the moment. I love the idea of finding a cool piece of furniture and Imagemaking it over into something a little funkier. I was pretty happy with this little revamp… let’s just say it’s not her first facelift. When I moved away from San Francisco the first time, my sister had just moved here (sad transition, I know). So, I gave her a lot of random furniture including a sad little, light wood coffee table (Thank you, Alicia). When I moved back to the Bay Area, she still had it and decided to repaint it red. When  she and her soon-to-be-husband started their trek around South America, we inherited some of their household items… and the coffee table is back.  And she is looking better than ever!

We needed something bright for the living room, so I decided to repaint the coffee table yellow–same paint I used for the mirror. Then I came across a photo of a yellow coffee table with a chalkboard top online. Perfect! We love to play board games, card games… you name it games, with our friends and family, and we come from somewhat competitive stock. Keeping score is a must. The chalkboard top fit all our needs.

So, here’s what we did:

  1. Since the paint was dark, we primed the table first. (With this many coats of paint, we should have sanded it down first as John suggested, but I was too impatient.)
  2. Then we painted it with 2 coats of yellow paint and let that dry.
  3. I used blue painter’s tape to make a border around the outside edge of the table top.
  4. Then I painted the top with chalkboard paint. I used two coats for this too. (Hint: For the best lines, remove the tape BEFORE the second paint color has completely dried.) Chalkboard paint is pretty easy to use and covers well.
BEFORE

BEFOREAFTER

Materials:

  • Primer
  • Paint
  • Painter’s tape
  • Chalkboard paint
  • Paint brushes (varied sizes).

Love the finished product!

One thought on “Coffee Table Makeover

Leave a Reply

