Some Like It Hot

It is the 4th of July, but that does not necessarily make it hot in San Francisco. Despite the recent heat wave, the city was a little chilly tonight. So, we added heat somewhere else– our kitchen. Since we decided to go very bright and a bit eclectic in our kitchen, I thought why not add some more vibrance. I really just liked the idea of having “some like it hot,”  in my kitchen. Talk about kitschy.

We have a small ledge along the top back wall of our kitchen, just tall enough for small decorative pieces. We originally had planned on adding Mexican tiles there, but instead I combined the quote with the tile idea. It is far from perfect, which I kind of like, as it matches our impromptu paint job. Again, it was pretty easy and very inexpensive. All it took were some 6″x6″ tiles from Home Depot, paint ( I used left over from other projects) and stencils… or a very steady hand. We have a dye cut machine at work, so making a stencil was probably a little easier for me.

Here’s what you need:

  • tiles ( I used Home Depot’s 6″x6″ for $.86 each)
  • paint
  • stencils
  • a tall person to place the tiles (John)

Here’s what we did:

  1. I painted tiles in alternating colors (for the most part).
  2. After the first coat dried, I retouched.
  3. I laid the stencil down on top of the tile.
  4. I painted the stencil with white paint ( then retouched after it dried).
  5. John helped me place them along the ledge.

Step 1: Paint Tile

Step 2: Stencil

Step 3: Stand back and READ

One thought on “Some Like It Hot

Leave a Reply

